A Sad Little Group Of Buoys

I once described being motherless as “like a buoy cut loose and floating, directionless, belonging to no one.” This is, I suppose, the best way to describe the way I’ve been feeling lately. There is only so much stress and nervousness the body and mind can process before it goes, “Fuck it,” and you end up wearing a slack face and saying “uh-huh” a lot.

 I took a few days this week, as I did last week, to visit the Island Of Misfit Toys in hopes of raising my spirits, or at least relaxing a bit. And, as happened last week, I got a phone call from my dad the day after I got here, saying that he was being admitted to the hospital again. I suppose it’s the up-and-down that’s wearing me out; it seems the good days, the days where Dad says, “I feel better,” or “it’s been a nice day, the weather’s good,” are always followed by something not so good. I’m hoping that this surgery is the exception–I don’t know how much more up and down Dad can handle either.

 This time around on the Rock, a couple of my friends have been pretty depressed, too–and that’s hard for a number of reasons. You can’t expect a depressed person to cheer you up, and if you’re depressed, you can’t do much for them–so you end up as we did: a sad little group of slack-faced buoys, sitting stoned together in the same room and not talking much. It’s a little more comforting than being alone, I guess.

 I feel like every downswing has to have its upswing, and for the sake of my father, and my friends, and myself, I hope our upswing is coming. I also hope I cry soon, because I absolutely need it–and I actually found myself envious of my one friend, who says he’s been crying all week. A good, cathartic cry can go a long way.

 Really, I just want to see the happy twinkle in my Dad’s Santa Claus-blue eyes again. I miss the person he was not so long ago–the energetic, talkative, stubborn genius that I’ve known all my life. I know he misses that person too, and I hope we get him back real soon.

 I’m done blathering. I’ve run out of things to say. The muscles in my face are starting to atrophy from disuse. Oh, bother.

~ by saltgirlspeaks on 16 August, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
