Statement Of Fact

It’s ridiculously cold out, and I’m sitting on my porch alone at 4:41 in the morning, smoking endless amounts of cigarettes that my body does not really want. It’s so cold that my red wine, which I poured out of the bottle not ten minutes ago, is now as cold as if it had been iced. I have to admit that as much as I resent the cold right now, I’m glad that the mugginess of summer is, at least for the time being, over. There are always more layers to add, and there’s nothing more satisfying when you’re cold from head to toe than to crawl underneath a lush down comforter, which is what I’m about to do. I’ll be damned if I’m gonna see 5 a.m. for nothing again.

~ by saltgirlspeaks on 13 October, 2007.

3 Responses to “Statement Of Fact”

  1. and then there is breaking out the wool. now that is a lovely feeling in itself..

  2. …today is a nice day for wool.

  3. Time to bust out the “lead blanket”

    go sox!

Leave a Reply

 
