Recreational Ferry-Riding

Yesterday, I realized that my credit card bills were due… today. Which means that the only way to pay them was to go off-island to the Bank of America branch in Woods Hole and pay them in cash. Rather than simply riding across on the boat (which would have cost 11 dollars round trip), paying my bills and riding back, I decided to give the boat riding a wider purpose. So I invited my sister to accompany me for ferry-riding and chinese food, at Peking Palace in Falmouth (a rare treat for those of us who live on the island, where the Chinese restaurant is nicknamed the “Gaggin’ Dragon”).

After some brief discussion about the weather and the cost of taxis, we decided to bring the car. It would cost about the same anyway, right?

Wrong.

Because with the car, there came the possibility of shopping. Specifically the possibility of buying things that were too large to carry on the boat by hand. I spent enough money to get to California and back.

A rough inventory:

Bamboo rug for my kitchen
Four pairs of pants, two of which are a bit goofy
A gigundo thing of toilet paper
A ruffly shirt the color of a cartoon mango (yes, I said ruffly)

…and here’s where the evidence of island fever begins to show…

Two “mystery” Matchbox cars (the packaging is opaque black plastic)
Two boxes of Barbie miniature fairies, one of which looks like a less attractive Maleficent
Two whoppingly huge bags of Cadbury mini-eggs
Plaid shoes
Orange-flavored body wash/shampoo/bubble bath
Heart-shaped Everlasting Gobstoppers
A time-wasting card game that I used to play back in the stoner days of high school
A battery-powered sparkly lava lamp night light
Two boxes of dice
A partridge in a pear tree

Okay, so I was kidding about that last one. But you get the picture.

Thankfully, we didn’t make it to the Christmas Tree Shop. I might have come home with several garden gnomes, a dozen stained glass window doohickeys, Spiderman flip-flops, a stuffed jellyfish and a stray child or two.

~ by saltgirlspeaks on 20 February, 2008.

3 Responses to “Recreational Ferry-Riding”

  1. love it, just tried to read it to my flatmate (he wanted to know what was making me laugh) he didn’t find it funny. i think yuo have to of lived on the island to appricate the craziness that desends.
    when my friend andy came to visit i was too poor to go get him, but i met him in woodshole just cause i had to feel like i was off island at least a bit.

  2. oh Cadbury mini-eggs! Is it that time of the year already? Why don’t I go buy fourteen bags myself?

  3. nice work, dude

Leave a Reply

 
