Dear Jet Blue

We used to have a good thing going. I was even faithful, for a number of years. You gave me everything I wanted in an airline: direct flights, low prices, friendly staff and flight attendants, and Direct TV. Your flights were usually on time, and the times were convenient–I loved the red-eye from San Jose to Boston!

But something’s changed in you… something ugly. You’ve gotten greedy and selfish, and stopped caring about me, or anyone else for that matter. Your prices used to be the lowest, and now they’re the highest. You don’t have direct flights to the West Coast anymore, and I’d be willing to bet you charge a first checked bag fee. Simply put: I can’t afford you anymore. I’m glad I never bit at the bait and got the JetBlue American Express card because if I had, chances are I’d be getting taken advantage of by two companies and not just one. I see now that that was probably your intention all along.

But I’ve had enough of you, Jet Blue. I’ve had enough of your unnecessary rate hikes and your systematic elimination of everything I used to love about you. I don’t have to stay faithful, and I won’t. As a matter of fact, I’m not sure I ever want to talk to you again. If you want to get me back, you’re going to have to change a lot. Frankly, I don’t think you have the integrity. If for some reason you decide to be a decent airline again, you know where to find me. Until then I’ll be slumming with Southwest–or maybe worse, Delta.

It breaks my heart that it’s come to this. I should have known all your promises were too good to be true and that you’d eventually betray me, but I wanted so badly to believe you that I didn’t see it coming.

I trusted you, you terrible bastard. It won’t happen again.

Disappointedly yours,
Sonne

~ by saltgirlspeaks on 31 December, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
