“Salt Girl, What’s Your 20?”

In four weeks I will have a bachelor’s degree in Writing, Literature and Publishing, and if I’m lucky there might be some fancy latin involved. In five weeks, I will start work at a job that I’m excited about and looking forward to. I own a house, and I’m falling more and more in love with it every day. I’m in debt, but I have a plan to get out of it, and I’m ready to work hard to do it quickly. I’m 30 years old, and with the exception of the loss of my father, I’m happier than I’ve been since I was a teenager.

I’m getting along with my sister. I’m saying the difficult things, and she’s hearing them the way I mean them. We had a two hour conversation the other day that was nothing but good. I’m amazed and excited. I’ve missed her.

I’m looking forward to books I will read, art I will make, great summer nights that will happen because I don’t have any homework hanging over me like a curfew. I’m inspired to write, even though I’ve been writing on a schedule for months.

I’ve reached the summit of this particular mountain. It’s all downhill from here.

~ by saltgirlspeaks on 19 April, 2010.

2 Responses to ““Salt Girl, What’s Your 20?””

  1. Congratulations! You sound very excited. And how could you not be? Instead of paying to take exams, you’ll be getting paid to complete deadlines.

    What’s up with this fancy Latin thing?

    • There’s a likelihood I will graduate cum laude, and a possibility that it could be magna cum laude. 😀

Leave a Reply

 
