Things I Have Learned Tonight Through Experimentation and Observation

1. There is a family of skunks living in my yard. I kinda knew that already though– there always has been in this yard.

2. Skunks like chicken food. They don’t care if it’s dark yet, they want the CHICKEN FOOD!!!

3. Baby skunks are cute but stupid, apparently deaf, and easily alarmed (in a potentially stinky way).

4. The clapping thing works– on adult skunks. Mama ran away like a bat out of hell after one clap. The babies? Not so much. They either flip around and raise their tails at you, or they don’t react at all & just keep on eating chicken food.

5. Stupid us, for feeding our chickens by the front porch, where we can watch them and laugh at how weird and stupid and funny they are. All the while, the skunks are laughing at us.

6. I think it’s official. The skunk phobia is gone. I’m not stupid enough to stop being wary, but I’m not gonna lock myself in someone’s car for twenty minutes because I’m too afraid of what’s between me and the door. Yes, I did that once. I also almost got run over by a huge buck deer because I was convinced the rustling in the bushes was a mammoth skunk that was gonna practically kill me and I froze stiff in my tracks. That deer almost put my eye out. Was I afraid of deer after that?? No.

Sorry. Tangent.

7. I much prefer the wild chickens, iguanas, lizards, and even the stray dogs of my other islands to skunks, harmless though they may be. They’re obnoxious. Craig Kingsbury (the guy who brought them here and let them loose) was an asshole. He pulled the perfect senior prank on his own island.

~ by saltgirlspeaks on 14 August, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
